Uncategorized

Feel The Bern

At least THREE people on my news feed shared this meme today.

12108805_437533819783465_369240381372421502_n

It kind of ticked me off, and it caused me to post the following rant:

If you are talking about benefits like SNAP and TANF and Medicaid, maybe you should find out what the qualifications are to be eligible for those benefits.

Maybe you should think about the woman whose partner raped her and got her pregnant over and over again until she found a way out of that situation. But now she can’t afford child care for the kids she has. She can’t afford to go to work at a full time job, because, who would pay for child care? She can’t afford a part time job, because the wages she earned wouldn’t be enough to cover gas, not even thinking about child care.

Maybe you should think about the war veteran who suffers from PTSD and can’t work because of the horrors he has experienced and the way it changed his brain.

Maybe you should think about the man who spent most of his life working, and working hard in a field, and now can’t find employment in the only trade he knows, and can’t get a job in any other field because he has no experience in them.

Maybe you should think about the times that you were fired or laid off or didn’t get picked for a job and how hard it is to bounce back from that.

Maybe, just maybe there is a man out there who actually wants to give the working class a chance. Maybe there is a man running for president who believes that the wealth inequality in our nation, and the fact that the top 10% of the country have 90% of the wealth, is JUST WRONG. Maybe, instead of placing the blame on the poor and the broken and the struggling, you should look at the greedy bastards on Wall Street who prevent the rest of the American people from having a chance.

Maybe you should consider the idea that more and more people are having a hard time breaking the chains of poverty, not because they aren’t trying, but because there is such a HUGE imbalance in our country.

Maybe you should think about the children who are starving and innocent, and can’t be held accountable for the actions of their parents. Maybe if more money was put into helping the poor, teaching them finance, and helping them understand budgeting, our country would be stronger.

Maybe if people stopped blaming the poor and started looking at the real enemy, Cooperate Wall Street, things could be great again.

But maybe, you will just keep complaining and blaming the wrong people. Maybe you will share a meme that does nothing but further the ignorance of America. Maybe you vote for a Cooperate lobbyist and have that person be the reason that your neighbor, your sister, your friend, your co-workers are unable to support themselves.
I know who I am voting for, and your inability to see things beyond the scope of your own wallet will not change that.

#EndRant #FeelTheBern #BernieSanders

-XoXo Dimples

 

3 thoughts on “Feel The Bern

  1. Excellent post and very well said! People need to open their eyes and realize they’re targeting their anger and disdain at the wrong people. I’ve had a rant bursting to get out of me for a long time about this very issue, but I’ve been hesitant to post about it. Maybe I should? Hmm…

    Like

    1. YOU ABSOLUTLEY SHOULD!!!! The only way to create change is to share the knowledge we have and attempt to help people understand.

      The victim blaming HAS TO STOP. Do you know, I actually had a guy tell me that if a woman is in an abusive relationship or being raped and can’t get away, that it is her own fault?! What kind of world do we live in that people have lost all compassion for humanity.

      I am grateful that in this country I have the ability to say what is on my mind, I can reach out to and be friends with people across the country. I can stand tall knowing that my voice will be heard, if only to a few, then that’s the few it was meant for.

      I have no tolerance in my life for people that are out to harm others. It is not in my psyche and it isn’t in my nature. I don’t want to be associated with that sort of person.

      Voice your thoughts darling!

      -XoXo Dimples

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Someone actually said that?! Just when you think you’ve seen all the hatefulness there is, and there’s nothing left to shock you, something does.

        And you know what? I think I will post a rant of my own. Thanks for the encouragement!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

