Activism · Blog · blogging · Emotions · Expectations · Faith · Feeelings · Gay · Happiness · Health · Honesty · Human Rights · Lesbian · Living · Love · media · Mental · Mistakes · Motivation · Muse · Music · New · Partners · passive aggresive · Politics · Positive Outlook · Protests · race · REal Life · Relationships · Respect · rights · secrets · Self Harm · Singing · Social Issues · Suicide · Thoughts · Thyroid · Trans · Wellness · Writing

Going to Conference

So, I am going to do something I haven’t done before.

I am traveling out of town with work. It involves a hotel stay and everything.

I am not going to lie. I am super stoked. It’s a chance to go out and learn a lot of new things that can really help me with my line of work. I am hoping to meet new people, network, and really put myself out there.

I am also looking forward to the bonding time with my boss. A little one on one time in the two hour drive there (please let her be ok with me vaping in the car!!!!) *Fun fact* her maiden name is the same as my last name and after a few discussions with her mother; we’ve come to the conclusion that our families may be distant relations. She is one of the best people I have worked for. In all honesty, I have been very blessed when it comes to supervisors, but my current boss is really great. She has been known to surprise our unit with small sweet gifts just to say “thank you”, or “I am thinking of you”. She looks out for each of us and she takes the time to get to know each of us on an individual level. I feel like she truly understands how to keep a healthy working relationship balance with her employees. I hope, especially after this trip, she knows how much I value and respect her as a supervisor.

The hotel we are staying in is right on the Elizabeth River. I have already charged the batteries for my Nikon in hopes of getting some excellent shots of the River with all of the ships and boats. I’m really hoping that this little excursion will give me the chance to take some photos and update my portfolio. The rooms we requested are balcony rooms over the river and supposedly have breath taking views. To tell you that I am beyond excited is an understatement. Just pulling my old girl out and brushing the dust off of the bag was enough to get the excitement tingling in my fingers.

The hotel is also two blocks down from a large mall. I realized this weekend after wearing my “favorite” skinny jeans that it is time to purchase some new jeans. The ones I tried to wear yesterday were a snug size 16 when I bought them. They are a stretchy material, and over the last year, in my gaining and losing of weight, they stretched with me, and stretched OUT! I went from a snug 16 to a lose 22 and took those jeans with me through the ride. Now, the inner thighs are all loose, saggy and wrinkly. The butt hangs a good inch lower than my actual bum and the front looks worn from the abuse. So, I have decided that after sitting in the lectures all day, I am going to spend at least one evening shopping around for a decent pair of jeans that actually fit my smaller body. While I am not anywhere near where I want to be, I do need some jeans to wear to get me through to the next transition phase. Plus, maybe a nice dress for when I get back and treat my lovely woman out for a dinner date.

I plan on doing some writing too in my down time in the hotel at night as well. Seeing as that I usually spend my nights wrangling the fur-babies, laundry, dishes, dinner, and being with my lovely partner, I will have to find something to occupy my mind for the evening. I will have some reading with me, but I have a few blog pieces that have been itching to be written and I need to put them on paper.

So, that is what is going on this week my friends. We leave tomorrow morning for the conference and I will return Friday evening. I won’t be gone long, just a few days, but I am looking forward to it. Stay tuned to my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/DimplesInProgress for more frequent updates! I am also on Twitter and Instagram @ DimplesInProgress

-XoXo Dimples

Leave a Reply

